Employers don`t have to provide their employees with a minimum shift, but they do need to be careful how they plan it. This is not to say that presentation time is never considered hours worked. On the contrary, some employers and employees may have a contractual agreement, formal or informal, that concerns the time of presentation. The contractual agreement may specify a minimum number of hours to be counted as hours worked for the presentation time. If employers are used to paying employees, they may be required to pay employees in accordance with this practice, unless employees have been properly informed that the practice has changed. It is important to note that internal factors under the employer`s control do not deviate from the 4-hour minimum shift rule. Similarly, an employer cannot use an employee`s alleged misconduct to avoid paying the shift minimum wage. The four-hour minimum shift rule does not mean that employers are required to schedule employees for at least four shifts. At the other end of the planning spectrum is the prescribed minimum wage and overtime pay. Specifically, California`s Labor Law requires a 4-hour minimum wage requirement that employees who are told they must work will actually be paid for at least half of their scheduled shift, even if they are sent home earlier or are unable to work. A regular shift means a fixed, repetitive shift in which an employee usually works on the same day each week. There is no regular shift if the total working time or working days change each week. Director of New York.

Rules 146-1.5 (d) If an employee is scheduled for less than eight hours, he or she is entitled to half of his or her daily wage, even if he or she is sent home earlier or is not authorized to work. By understanding California labor laws and considering impact when planning, employers can ensure they comply with regulations, minimizing the costs associated with reporting the time due. If an employee`s travel time to a transportation hub (airport, bus station, train station, etc.) is roughly equal to the employee`s travel time to the employee`s regular place of work, the employer may begin counting the employee`s travel time as hours worked upon arrival at the transportation hub. Employers cannot use employees` alleged misconduct as an excuse not to pay them. The Minimum Shifts Act continues to apply. Because California labor laws mention a minimum of two hours and a maximum of four hours, many have interpreted this to mean that the law requires employees to schedule a minimum number of hours of work per day. How many hours per day or week can an employee work?, U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division. New York`s minimum wage laws define a work week as seven (7) consecutive 24-hour periods or a regularly repetitive 168-hour period.

A work week can begin at any time of the day and any day of the week and does not necessarily have to coincide with a calendar week. Employers may set separate work weeks for different employees or groups of workers. Once the start work week has been created for an employee, the work week must generally remain defined regardless of the employee`s expected hours of work. Employers can change the start time and day of a work week if the change is intended to be permanent and not created to avoid overtime pay requirements. Director of New York. Rules 146-3.11 It should also be noted that the RSA does not require employers to pay employees for a minimum number of hours to report and work. For example, a construction worker shows up for work at 6:00 a.m. and works for 30 minutes, at which time his employer sends him home because it started to rain. The employer would only be required to pay the employee for 30 minutes of work. It would not be necessary to pay the employee for overtime or for a minimum number of hours. The RSA does not require employers to pay employees at least 1, 2, 3, 4 hours, etc. simply because they report to work.

When can an employee`s scheduled hours of work be changed? For example, an employee shows up to work on a production line and the equipment doesn`t work. His employer tells him to wait at the facility until the equipment is repaired. Once the equipment is repaired, the employee starts working. The employee`s waiting time is considered working time because the employee is not allowed to leave the premises or can use the time for personal use. Instead, the employee waits for instructions to return to work, which benefits his employer. If the employee were sent home and asked not to return to work that day, that would be the time of his appearance and he would not have to be counted as hours worked. Imagine you`ll be working a standard eight-hour shift next Friday – you`re supposed to get the office at 9:00 a.m. and leave at 5:00 p.m. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FSL) sets out the minimum wage, overtime pay, youth records, and employment standards that affect workers in the private sector and federal, state, and local governments. Insured and non-exempt workers have been entitled to a minimum wage of at least $7.25 per hour since July 24, 2009.

Overtime pay at a rate of at least one and a half times the normal rate of pay required after 40 hours of work per work week. Minimum Heating Guidelines, Mass. Department of Labour Standards. Describes the minimum temperatures required in different types of workplaces. Specific temperature requirements for different types of workplaces. Fortunately, California labor laws protect California workers who are on call or need to work. California labor laws include a 4-hour minimum wage requirement. However, many workers do not understand the provisions of the 4-hour minimum wage law, so they do not know if their employers are violating their legal rights with regard to wages and working time laws.

If your labor rights have been violated for any reason – whether you`ve been denied minimum wage or asked to work more than the maximum number of days an employee can work in a row – you should be prepared to contact an experienced payroll and working time attorney in Los Angeles. Some employees work at strange times. For example, they can work 8 hours today and 5 hours tomorrow. In addition, employees can be on call, so they do not work that day if there is no work. From 2019, all hours worked more than 55 hours per week or more than nine and a half hours per working day will now be paid as overtime. And by 2022, farm workers who work more than 40 hours a week and eight hours a day will receive one and a half times that employee`s normal rate of pay. New York`s minimum wage laws require the employer to pay employees for all hours worked, which is defined as any time employees are allowed to work or must be available in a location prescribed by the employer. Director of New York.

Rules 142-2.1 (b) (B) If an employee is required to report to work a second time on a business day and less than two (2) hours of work are performed on the second report, that employee will be paid for two (2) hours at the employee`s standard rate of pay, which shall not be less than the minimum wage. As with most labour laws, there are exceptions to the Law on Remuneration for Reporting Time. For insured and non-exempt employees, the RSA requires overtime pay of at least one and a half times an employee`s normal rate of pay after 40 hours of work per work week. Certain exceptions to the 40-hour per week standard apply in special circumstances to police and firefighters employed by public bodies, as well as employees of hospitals and nursing homes. If an employee is sent home by the employer before the end of at least half of his regular shift, he is essentially entitled to at least half of his shift. It should be noted that there are limited exceptions to California`s four-hour minimum shift law.